Cuberite Forum
Porting Java-based mods to Lua - Printable Version

+- Cuberite Forum (https://forum.cuberite.org)
+-- Forum: Plugins (https://forum.cuberite.org/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Plugin Discussion (https://forum.cuberite.org/forum-8.html)
+--- Thread: Porting Java-based mods to Lua (/thread-1722.html)

Pages: 1 2

Porting Java-based mods to Lua - Atro - 01-13-2015

Keep in mind: I am not an expert in either Java or Lua

I came across jnlua: https://code.google.com/p/jnlua/

It claims to be able to access both java and lua functions.

My question is would this be a viable option for using established mods for the proprietary Minecraft Server by doing the following:

1. Installing said java server mods in a separate plugin directory
2. Writing a plugin that is able to call those mods (Think of Forge API)
3. Writing individual lua plugins for those mods to handle the I/O between the server and the java mods
4. Profit????

The only reason I can see that this wouldn't work is that the server uses the standard lua interpreter.

Let me know if this would ever be a possibility or if it sounds like the ramblings of a mad man.

I repeat: I am not an expert in Java or Lua.

RE: Porting Java-based mods to Lua - Atro - 01-13-2015

In an attempt to test if this theory is indeed possible, I wrote the following short plugin to do one thing: Create a JavaVM and print "Hello, world!" to the screen.

Note: lua5.1.dll has been replaced with jnlua5.1.dll and renamed to access the jnlua functions.

function Initialize(Plugin)
	Plugin:SetName("JavaVM")
	Plugin:SetVersion(1)

-- Hooks
	cPluginManager.AddHook(cPluginManager.HOOK_WORLD_STARTED, initiatejavavm)

function initiatejavavm(javavm)
    javavm = require("javavm")
    javavm.create("-Djava.class.path=jnlua-0.9.6.jar")
    System = java.require("java.lang.System")
    System.out:println("Hello, world!")
    javavm.destroy()
    end