Cuberite Forum
Disallowed movement - Printable Version

+- Cuberite Forum (https://forum.cuberite.org)
+-- Forum: Plugins (https://forum.cuberite.org/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Plugin Discussion (https://forum.cuberite.org/forum-8.html)
+--- Thread: Disallowed movement (/thread-2202.html)

Pages: 1 2


Disallowed movement - Bobstergaming - 11-07-2015

Hi!

I have got a minecraft server, and I wanted to disallow certain people from going to a certain (VIP only) area. I made a mockup of the code so anyone is disallowed to move there, just to try it out.

I am trying to disallow movement to -370, 219, 131

function OnPlayerMoving(Player, OldPosition, NewPosition)
	World = Player:GetWorld()
		if (NewPosition == -370, 219, 131) then
		return false   
end

I have called the hook OnplayerMoving.

Can anyone help me, I am a total newb at lua and wanted to try making a plugin.

PS I am writing on top of a plugins called Jobs for now, as it havge things related to what I want to do. (Although I think it needs updating).


RE: Disallowed movement - NiLSPACE - 11-07-2015

Hello and welcome to the forum Smile

If you want to stop a player from moving you have to return true, not false.

Also, the NewPosition is a Vector3d variable. What you could do is use this:
if (NewPosition:Equals(Vector3d(-370, 219, 131))) then
   return true
end

Also notice the "end" to mark the end of the if block.


RE: Disallowed movement - xoft - 11-09-2015

The main problem with this approach is that you're basically blocking access to a single point in space. Normally you would want to restrict an entire area, the cBoundingBox class might help you a lot here: http://apidocs.cuberite.org/cBoundingBox.html

(your code prohibits the player from moving to {-370, 219, 131}, but it doesn't prohibit from moving to {-370, 219.0001, 131} )


RE: Disallowed movement - DiamondToaster - 11-10-2015

Just throwing an example out there, I even had trouble with this at one point:

-- Lets define a box around 0, 70, 0 thats about 3 cubes big, just for this example.

-- Construct a box using opposite points defined as a min and max Vector3d
local VIPBox = cBoundingBox(Vector3d(-3, 67, -3), Vector3d(3, 73, 3))

-- Lets use the OnPlayerMoving hook to check if they are attempting to enter
function OnPlayerMoving(Player, OldPos, NewPos)
    -- Check if the position that will jump to next is inside the box
    if VIPBox:IsInside(NewPos) then
        -- Tell the server that this plugin has handled the player\'s movement and do not let the server advance the player
        return true
    end
end



RE: Disallowed movement - Bobstergaming - 11-12-2015

(11-09-2015, 08:32 AM)xoft Wrote: The main problem with this approach is that you're basically blocking access to a single point in space. Normally you would want to restrict an entire area, the cBoundingBox class might help you a lot here: http://apidocs.cuberite.org/cBoundingBox.html

(your code prohibits the player from moving to {-370, 219, 131}, but it doesn't prohibit from moving to {-370, 219.0001, 131} )

Thanks, I though that was the issue


RE: Disallowed movement - Bobstergaming - 11-12-2015

I have almost exactly copied you code:
local bblock = cBoundingBox(Vector3d(-372, 218, 131), Vector3d(-377, 220, 130))

function OnPlayerMoving(Player, OldPosition, NewPosition)
	World = Player:GetWorld()
	if bblock:IsInside(NewPosition) then	
		return true		
	end
end	

I don`t really know what the issue is here, nothing happens when I enter the area
(I even tried giving myself default rank)


RE: Disallowed movement - NiLSPACE - 11-12-2015

You did register the hook using cPluginManager:AddHook right?


RE: Disallowed movement - Bobstergaming - 11-14-2015

Job = {}

function Initialize(Plugin)
	Plugin:SetName("Jobs")
	Plugin:SetVersion(1)
		
	cPluginManager.BindCommand("/jobs",                    "jobs.jobs",                  HandleJobsCommand,                        " - Join, browse or leave jobs.");
	
	cPluginManager.AddHook(cPluginManager.HOOK_BLOCK_TO_PICKUPS, OnBlockToPickups)
	cPluginManager.AddHook(cPluginManager.HOOK_PLAYER_PLACING_BLOCK, OnPlayerPlacingBlock)
	cPluginManager.AddHook(cPluginManager.HOOK_KILLING, OnKilling)
	cPluginManager.AddHook(cPluginManager.HOOK_PLAYER_BROKEN_BLOCK, OnPlayerBrokenBlock)
	cPluginManager:AddHook(cPluginManager.HOOK_PLAYER_FISHING, OnPlayerFishing)
	cPluginManager.AddHook(cPluginManager.HOOK_PLAYER_JOINED, OnPlayerJoined)
	cPluginManager.AddHook(cPluginManager.HOOK_PLAYER_MOVING, OnPlayerMoving)
	
	PM = cPluginManager
		
	UsersIni = cIniFile()	
	UsersIni:ReadFile("jobs.ini")	
	
	local CheckJob = function(Player)
		Job[Player:GetName()] = UsersIni:GetValue(Player:GetUUID(),   "Job")
	end
	
	cRoot:Get():ForEachPlayer(CheckJob)
	
	LOG("Initialized " .. Plugin:GetName() .. " v." .. Plugin:GetVersion())
	return true
end

I think this is ok


RE: Disallowed movement - NiLSPACE - 11-14-2015

Yes, that looks normal. Perhaps you have defined OnPlayerMoving somewhere else as well?


RE: Disallowed movement - DiamondToaster - 11-14-2015

(11-14-2015, 01:25 AM)Bobstergaming Wrote:
Job = {}

function Initialize(Plugin)
	Plugin:SetName("Jobs")
	Plugin:SetVersion(1)
		
	cPluginManager.BindCommand("/jobs",                    "jobs.jobs",                  HandleJobsCommand,                        " - Join, browse or leave jobs.");
	
	cPluginManager.AddHook(cPluginManager.HOOK_BLOCK_TO_PICKUPS, OnBlockToPickups)
	cPluginManager.AddHook(cPluginManager.HOOK_PLAYER_PLACING_BLOCK, OnPlayerPlacingBlock)
	cPluginManager.AddHook(cPluginManager.HOOK_KILLING, OnKilling)
	cPluginManager.AddHook(cPluginManager.HOOK_PLAYER_BROKEN_BLOCK, OnPlayerBrokenBlock)
	cPluginManager:AddHook(cPluginManager.HOOK_PLAYER_FISHING, OnPlayerFishing)
	cPluginManager.AddHook(cPluginManager.HOOK_PLAYER_JOINED, OnPlayerJoined)
	cPluginManager.AddHook(cPluginManager.HOOK_PLAYER_MOVING, OnPlayerMoving)
	
	PM = cPluginManager
		
	UsersIni = cIniFile()	
	UsersIni:ReadFile("jobs.ini")	
	
	local CheckJob = function(Player)
		Job[Player:GetName()] = UsersIni:GetValue(Player:GetUUID(),   "Job")
	end
	
	cRoot:Get():ForEachPlayer(CheckJob)
	
	LOG("Initialized " .. Plugin:GetName() .. " v." .. Plugin:GetVersion())
	return true
end

I think this is ok

Watch out when you call cPluginManager, you should use cPluginManager:AddHook instead of cPluginManager.AddHook, note the colon.