![]() |
cPlugin_NewLua: why is it Lua-exported? - Printable Version +- Cuberite Forum (https://forum.cuberite.org) +-- Forum: Cuberite (https://forum.cuberite.org/forum-4.html) +--- Forum: Development (https://forum.cuberite.org/forum-13.html) +--- Thread: cPlugin_NewLua: why is it Lua-exported? (/thread-465.html) |
cPlugin_NewLua: why is it Lua-exported? - xoft - 06-06-2012 I'm having a hard time understanding why the entire cPlugin_NewLua class is exported to Lua. Especially the callback, OnBlockDig() et al. Why would anything from Lua call these? Even worse, there doesn't seem to be a way to get the object instance on which to call the functions. I need some serious light-shedding here. RE: cPlugin_NewLua: why is it Lua-exported? - FakeTruth - 06-06-2012 Let me shed some light on that. It is exported to Lua, but it doesn't need to. I HAVE SPOKEN! RE: cPlugin_NewLua: why is it Lua-exported? - xoft - 06-06-2012 Behold the word of Truth. The word of Fake Truth ![]() RE: cPlugin_NewLua: why is it Lua-exported? - FakeTruth - 06-06-2012 Amen to that. Hallelujah! RE: cPlugin_NewLua: why is it Lua-exported? - xoft - 06-10-2012 And how about cPlugin's callbacks, do those need to be exported? I wouldn't think so, but what do I know... RE: cPlugin_NewLua: why is it Lua-exported? - FakeTruth - 06-10-2012 They need to be exported for the old plugins. It uses tolua++ to call functions from C++ to lua, therefore they need to be exported RE: cPlugin_NewLua: why is it Lua-exported? - xoft - 06-13-2012 Are old plugins still used at all? I'm currently experiencing issues trying to add a callback, ToLua produces uncompilable code for cPlugin binding. I'd say it's time to chuck old plugins away. RE: cPlugin_NewLua: why is it Lua-exported? - FakeTruth - 06-14-2012 Fine. I didn't think they would interfere, but if they do I say ditch them ![]() RE: cPlugin_NewLua: why is it Lua-exported? - Taugeshtu - 06-14-2012 Still, if one really need old plugin to work - re-write it! It's really simple (replace GetWorld() with GetDefaultWorld(), delete PluginName: prefix in hook callbacks and get rid of all setmetatable-related stuff). RE: cPlugin_NewLua: why is it Lua-exported? - xoft - 06-14-2012 No, Taugeshtu, those are actually the new plugins already. The old plugins are ones that are set in the settings.ini by Plugin=<name>, rather than NewPlugin=<name>. They have a completely different architecture, from what I can gather. I don't even think all the new hooks work in them. I certainly didn't write any glue code for that. |