Function Creating
Not sure if this goes here but I thought I would create a function to display server rules and decided to use the motd function from core as a template for it since it basically does the same thing. Now I've added it to the core.deproj file, info.lua file, and created a rules.lua file with some modifications. Everything works except one thing, it reads from the motd.txt and doesn't create rules.txt like I wanted it to. Is there something I'm missing like a variable defined elsewhere? I would also like to add I'm completely new here and just started using this today because I despise java and am so happy I found a C++ alternative. I'm also completely new to LUA but I do have a little knowledge in C++, PHP, and JS/jQuery so I'm not completely dumb.

core.deproj code:
  <file>
    <filename>rules.lua</filename>
  </file>
info.lua code:
		["/rules"] = 
		{
			Permission = "core.rules",
			Handler = HandleRulesCommand,
			HelpString = " - Show rules",
		},
rules.lua code:
function HandleRulesCommand( Split, Player )
	ShowRulesTo( Player )
	return true
end

function LoadRules()

local File = io.open( "rules.txt", "r" )

-- Check if the file \'rules.txt\' exists, else create it.
	if not File then
		CreateFile = io.open( "rules.txt", "w" )
		CreateFile:write("@6Server Rules")
		CreateFile:close()
	else
		File:close()
	end

for line in io.lines( "rules.txt" ) do
		local TempMessage = line
		-- Do a for loop that goes to each char in the line.
		for I=1, string.len( TempMessage ) do
			-- If the char is a \'@\' then check if the next char represents a color.
			if string.sub( TempMessage, I, I ) == "@" then
				local Char = string.sub( TempMessage, I + 1, I + 1 )
				local Color = ReturnColorFromChar( TempMessage, Char )
				-- If the next char represented a color then put the color in the string.
				if Color ~= nil then
					TempMessage = string.gsub( TempMessage, "@" .. Char, Color )
				end
			end
		end
		-- Add the message to the list of messages.