Destructionless Explosions?
Hi, I'm a bit of a noob here, but I'm attempting to make a rocket jump plugin (Search TF2 rocketjump if you don't know what I mean). I have everything working perfectly, except the terrain being destroyed. Is there a way to create an explosion that still has significant knockback, but doesn't alter terrain? The only way i could think of doing this is spawning a primed TNT, reading the block type of a 3x3x3 cube around the TNT, setting that as water, then afterwards set those blocks back. Unfortunately, I found this to be incredibly unreliable and only works about 30% of the time. I would HIGHLY appreciate any suggestions.
Thanks given by:
You can use the OnExploding hook to stop explosions. You just have to check if you're stopping the correct explosion.
Thanks given by:
The problem is that I want the explosion because they cause a large amount of player knockback. The player is able to throw snowballs and use them as "rockets" to hurt others or to propel himself in the air. I just can't find a way to make an explosion that still hurts the player and sends him flying, but Don't damage the terrain. I tried to use the OnExploding hook to restore that segment of the terrain but it turned out to be unreliable.
Thanks given by:
Oh I forgot that the knockback would be gone as well. Sorry Wink.

You can use cPlayer:SetSpeed to make a player move somewhere. You could (if you want) use cWorld:BroadcastSoundEffect("random.explode", PosX, PosY, PosZ, 1, 1) to make the particles and explosion noise appear as well.
Thanks given by:
No problem. Tongue

That sounds like a pretty good idea. So what I would do is essentially create a speed vector using the Player position and the explosion site?
Thanks given by: