Posts: 4,628
Threads: 115
Joined: Dec 2011
Thanks: 693
Given 494 thank(s) in 423 post(s)
I disagree. Keep it in a separate plugin. Vanilla servers aren't shown automatically either.
Posts: 4,628
Threads: 115
Joined: Dec 2011
Thanks: 693
Given 494 thank(s) in 423 post(s)
Small question about the Network API.
Can I also leave the Port parameter empty and put it in the host?
For example: "cNetwork:Connect('ftp://myhost.org:21', nil, Callbacks)"
Posts: 6,485
Threads: 176
Joined: Jan 2012
Thanks: 131
Given 1074 thank(s) in 852 post(s)
02-28-2015, 05:33 AM
(This post was last modified: 02-28-2015, 05:33 AM by xoft.)
No, that won't work, the Host param is already too overloaded and the parser would be needlessly complicated. Also, the "ftp://" prefix shouldn't go there either.
Posts: 6,485
Threads: 176
Joined: Jan 2012
Thanks: 131
Given 1074 thank(s) in 852 post(s)
02-28-2015, 07:07 AM
(This post was last modified: 02-28-2015, 07:08 AM by xoft.)
That would be possible, but impractical - the network API is async, but you want the SQL database to by synchronous. Not to mention that the entire communication protocol would need to be ported. Too much work. Using an ODBC connector seems like a much better way to do this.
Posts: 4,628
Threads: 115
Joined: Dec 2011
Thanks: 693
Given 494 thank(s) in 423 post(s)
Is it maybe possible that the network connection doesn't release the memory properly? I noticed for a while that RAM doesn't go down when nobody is online, and it sometimes even goes up. When it goes up I pretty much always had the Core's webchat tab open, and since that tab keeps connecting to the server every X seconds (and thus creating a new connection), I thought it could be possible that the network could be the problem. I notice this on both Linux (gallery server) and Windows (local).
Posts: 6,485
Threads: 176
Joined: Jan 2012
Thanks: 131
Given 1074 thank(s) in 852 post(s)
Isn't "Content-length" required when using keep-alive connections? Or try using a non-keep-alive connection, possibly even HTTP/1.0, just to see if you get any data at all.