Compiling for powerpc (Darwin 9/OS X 10.5)
I'm trying to compile MCServer for my powerpc G4 mac mini. As you probably know, the java implementation in powerpc is awful and this server would be excellent for powerpc platforms.

However, compiling goes reasonably smooth in Xcode using GCC 4.0, but when I try to run it, I get a "bus error" which is aparently, the Mac OS equivalent of a segfault (or so I am told, could be wrong)

I'm a C Novice and don't know what to do next, is it possible this information may help somehow?

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/20694...-bus-error

Thanks,

-RTB
Thanks given by:
Apparently when a program compiles and runs fine under Linux it is not guaranteed to compile and/or run on a Mac.

There have been a lot of changes since the last time a stable release was made for Mac so it's most likely broken Sad

XCode is an IDE right? Could you try attaching the debugger to MCServer to see where it crashes/segfaults/bus errors?
Thanks given by:
(03-09-2012, 11:12 AM)FakeTruth Wrote: Apparently when a program compiles and runs fine under Linux it is not guaranteed to compile and/or run on a Mac.

There have been a lot of changes since the last time a stable release was made for Mac so it's most likely broken Sad

XCode is an IDE right? Could you try attaching the debugger to MCServer to see where it crashes/segfaults/bus errors?

Yeah, XCode is basically an IDE for Apple's really screwy GNU toolchain.

I'll try that and see what happens.
Thanks given by:
(03-09-2012, 11:12 AM)FakeTruth Wrote: Apparently when a program compiles and runs fine under Linux it is not guaranteed to compile and/or run on a Mac.

I don't understand really what it's telling me, but it looks bad. Anyway here's a screenshot from the debugger

http://glacialsoftware.com/DEBUG.png
Thanks given by: