Setting up on Linux.
Hello everybody !

I'm a computer science student, but i'm also french, so please, i ask you to correct my bad englishConfused
I have learnt C++/OOP during this year and i'm very interested in Server programming for MineCraft.
I was asking me what are the pros and the cons in using a custom server instead of using the minecraft-server provided by Mojang.

But it's not my only reason to post here. I'm new user on Ubuntu, that i found awesome for programming, BUT i meet a problem. I have read the Wiki for set up the file server provided, but when i type the command "wget http://mc-server.org/?uri=MCServer-Linux179.zip" i don't get the MCServer.zip file, but a file named "index.html?uri=MCServer-Linux179.zip".

Is it normal ?

Thanks!

Mirage Smile
Thanks given by:
you need to download MC-Server from here: http://mc-server.xoft.cz/
the newest version is R593
Thanks given by:
(06-12-2012, 05:47 AM)STR_Warrior Wrote: you need to download MC-Server from here: http://mc-server.xoft.cz/
the newest version is R593

Those are only for Windows. Linux users need to compile their own server from sources.

I'm sorry to say, I'm not too good in Linux, either, so I can't help much; but I'd say that filename is a rather arbitrary thing on Linux.

One thing, though - that part of the wiki was last updated about a year ago, I guess; since then the sources have changed much. It'd be best if you could download them directly from SVN, since the 179 version is compatible with, I think, MineCraft's Release 1.0, maybe.
Thanks given by:
I think you can use this command to download the sources from SVN
Code:
svn checkout http://mc-server.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/ mc-server-read-only

It should download the source in your current directory (I think) so I suggest you create a directory firstTongue

Then navigate to the trunk directory, and type make. After it's done compiling MCServer, you type ./MCServer to start it.