Visual studio "optimization' wtf
I was wondering why generation was slow. Then I looked at the code that VS is generating for the hottest function in our code, cNoise::IntNoise3D(). And I could only wonder: WTF??? Such code in a release build?
[Image: vs_optimization.png]
Aren't we doing something wrong if this is the "optimized" code? I've always thought compilers were better than this.
I wonder how gcc is doing in this function, any *nix geeks out there who could help dig the asm listing of that function out of gcc or gdb?
Thanks given by:
I'm a total noob @ assembly, but if you know how it works you could simply inline some asm and optimize it yourself?

Also maybe it'll optimize it properly if you put it between parentheses?
Thanks given by:
I've got an even easier "fix": putting the 57*57*57 into parenthesis made VS emit the optimized codeTongue
Even weirder - if I pull that function out into a standalone project for testing, the optimizer works wonders - for a few calls with constants, it even replaced the calls with the constant results; in other cases, it inlined the function and optimized it much better. It seems something's wrong with our projectTongue
Thanks given by:
I tried with VC2010, and whaddya know, it produces the very same stupid code, doing three multiplications one right after another.

However, when I pulled only the cNoise sources and all the headers they depend on from MCServer into a clean new project, added a few testcases into a main() function, then the code optimized nicely, both with 2008 and 2010. Weird.
Thanks given by:
Maybe it's a problem with the specific settings the for cNoise.cpp file
Thanks given by:
I tried compiling Rev 180 which didn't have the specific settings, still no good. It's no use, there hasn't been a time when that function was optimized on MCServer, so I can't find the culprit by walking through history. Pity.
Thanks given by: