Random Chitchat 2012-2016
(06-16-2012, 09:23 PM)Luksor Wrote: I have no idea where to implement this. Do I need to make a separate simulator just for setting metadata?

Here is my code: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/21041937/leaves.patch
Let me know if I you found any mistakes in the code. I'm still learning how to program.Tongue

A separate simulator would probably be the best way to go, since you are "simulating" leaf decay.
Thanks given by:
The problem with leaves is that they need to check a relatively large area of blocks, possibly across up to 4 chunks. Using cChunk::UnboundedRelGetBlock() can get slow in such a case, we might need to do a "get area of blocks" first.
I don't think a separate simulator is necessary, this is more about block-ticking than simulating physics. A separate block-tick function would do (same as TickGrass, for example)
Thanks given by:
I'm trying to get authentication to work.

Current status: Works with a dirty hack.

However, it's really slow (some part of cBlockingTCPLink causing it as far as I can tell)

When I say slow, I mean 1 minute of waiting...
Thanks given by:
(06-16-2012, 09:23 PM)Luksor Wrote: Let me know if I you found any mistakes in the code. I'm still learning how to program.Tongue

Your code that was checking the 9x9x9 neighbors for a log was flawed - if the block was less than 4 blocks away from a chunk's edge, it would have checked a wrong block, even could've caused a crash. cChunk::GetBlock() function only works for blocks inside the chunk, your code needs to check outside the chunk as well, so it needs to use cChunk::UnboundedRelGetBlock().

Onde more thing: The wiki says "and connected to the log by other leaf blocks". Your code only checks if there is a log block, but doesn't check for the actual connection.