Writing a User Manual
I think MCServer needs a User Manual. MCServer has almost no documentation and using it relies on a combination of knowing:

1: Already knowing the basics of running a server

2: Knowing the basics of running a minecraft server

3: Being particularly program savy

4: Bugging people on forums with questions that could easily be answer.

The lack of user documentation is so bad, I only found out about the webmanager for the server through an old post on the Minecraft forums.

Currently I'm experimenting with templates on MS Word for a good layout for a user manual. (I'm not good at typesetting though.) My idea is that I'll try to make a skeleton with a bit of the basic information, then we'll add it to github. Everyone can add a bit and review the information in the manual then. What do you think?
Thanks given by:
I think a wiki solution like Wikia http://www.wikia.com/Wikia would be better that a MS word dokument.
Thanks given by:
We already do have a wiki, but it has been neglected for so long that it's almost useless by now, and ridden with spammers. So the links have been shamefully hidden. If you think you can bring some light in there, it'd be greatly appreciated. The wiki link is http://wiki.mc-server.org
Thanks given by:
Writing a user manual might be a nice holiday project for me. Would you prefer the manual in HTML (wiki) format, HTML (document) format, PDF or some other type?
Thanks given by:
(04-05-2014, 03:01 AM)bearbin Wrote: Writing a user manual might be a nice holiday project for me. Would you prefer the manual in HTML (wiki) format, HTML (document) format, PDF or some other type?

PDF.

I find online manuals to be messy and inconvenient, plus the website has to be maintained. Besides, we don't want a Wiki- this isn't actually Minecraft. This is utilitarian program with well defined functions; a Wiki is unnecessary.